Dates confirmed for 2019 Under-21 European Championship in Italy

Dates confirmed for 2019 Under-21 European Championship in Italy

The UEFA Executive Committee met today in Helsinki for the 41st Ordinary Congress and confirmed the dates for the finals of the Under-21 European Championship which will take place in Italy between 16th and 30th June in 2019.

Twelve teams will compete at the competition and it will also determine qualification for the 2020 Olympic Games in Tokyo. Five Italian cities will host matches (Bologna, Cesena, Reggio Emilia, Trieste and Udine) along with San Marino. The FIGC’s candidacy involved cooperation with the San Marino Football Federation (FSGC) as both nations host the tournament for the first time.
Italy will qualify automatically as the host nation and Italy are one of the most decorated sides at this level with five wins (1992, 1994, 1996 and 2000). The Azzurrini have finished as runners-up twice (1986 and 2013) and reached the semi-finals on four occasions (1984, 1990, 2002 and 2009).

In organising the tournament, Italy’s status as a reference point in European football is confirmed after Turin hosted the 2014 Europa League final while in 2016 the male and female Champions League finals were held in Milan and Reggio Emilia. The 2020 European Championship will also see three group matches and one quarter-final played in Rome.

Candidacy for the right to host the competition was strongly supported by the Italian government, CONI (Italian Olympic Committee) and CIP (Italian Paralympic Committee). The Most Serene Republic of San Marino also offered it support as did local authorities in the host cities and key stakeholders in Italian football. The event offers economic benefits and improvements to infrastructure, transport, urban development, promotion of the ‘Made in Italy’ brand and the structures in place for tourism.

Qualification Groups

Group 1: Czech Republic*, Croatia, Greece, Moldova, Belarus, San Marino
Group 2: Spain*, Slovakia*, Iceland, Albania, Estonia, Northern Ireland
Group 3: Denmark*, Poland*, Finland, Georgia, Lithuania, Faroe Islands
Group 4: England*, Netherlands, Ukraine, Scotland, Latvia, Andorra
Group 5: Germany*, Israel, Norway, Republic of Ireland, Azerbaijan, Kosovo
Group 6: Sweden*, Belgium, Turkey, Hungary, Cyprus, Malta
Group 7: Serbia*, Austria, Russia, FYR Macedonia*, Armenia, Gibraltar
Group 8: Portugal*, Switzerland, Romania, Wales, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Liechtenstein
Group 9: France, Slovenia, Montenegro, Bulgaria, Kazakhstan, Luxembourg

* Italy qualify automatically as the host nation
• Out of the record 54 sides in qualifying, Kosovo and Gibraltar are making their debuts .
• The nine group winners qualify automatically.
• The four runners-up with the best records against the sides who finished first, third, fourth and fifth in their groups will proceed to the two-legged playoffs to determine the two other qualifiers.

20–28 March 2017
5–13 June 2017
28 August–5 September 2017
2–10 October 2017
6–14 November 2017
19–27 March 2018
3–11 September 2018
8–16 October 2018

12–20 November 2018

FIGC Store