Photo Vivoazzurro

Italian Football Hall of Fame 2017

An audience of stars lit up the Salone dei Cinquecento at the Palazzo Vecchio in Florence which was the spectacular setting for the sixth edition of the Italian Football Hall of Fame. The award ceremony was created by the FIGC and Football Museum Foundation in 2011 to celebrate the figures who made an indelible mark on the history of the Italian game.

A prestigious audience watched on as nine new stars were brought into the Hall of Fame: Giuseppe Bergomi (Italian Player), Paulo Roberto Falcão (Foreign Player), Claudio Ranieri (Italian Manager), Silvio Berlusconi (Italian Director), Paolo Rossi (Italian Veteran), Melania Gabbiadini (Italian Women’s Player) while Nils Liedholm, Giulio Campanati and Cesare Maldini were remembered posthumously.

The winners were selected on 25th October 2016 by a panel consisting of the Italian Press Union President Lugi Ferrajolo and directors from the top Italian sports newspapers. The new entrants received their applause as did Diego Maradona two years ahead of his entry in the Foreign Player category. “I feel a part of football here, I feel at home,” said Maradona while accompanied by his son Diego Armando Maradona Junior and there was the opportunity to catch up with his old President at Napoli Corrado Ferlaino.